Bucs earn fifth seed, will take on Liberty in 2015 Big South Softball Championships opener

Bucs earn fifth seed, will take on Liberty in 2015 Big South Softball Championships opener

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (www.BigSouthSports.com) - The Charleston Southern softball team earned the fifth seed in the 2015 Big South Softball Championships presented by Musco Sports Lighting as the conference tournament field as announced on Sunday evening. The reigning Big South Champions will open their title defense on Thursday at noon against No. 4 Liberty at Amanda Littlejohn Stadium on the campus of Campbell University.

Last season as the No. 7 seed, the Buccaneers swept their way through the Big South Tournament field, defeating Coastal Carolina in the Championship Game on their way to earning their first berth into the NCAA Tournament.

Liberty took two of the three games in the regular season this year at the CSU Softball Field, topping the Bucs in the first and third games to win the series. The Bucs win came in the second contest with senior Jennifer Giles hurling a shutout in the Bucs 5-0 win over the Flames.

Longwood, won the Big South softball title in its first season in 2013, finished 2015 with a 20-4 Big South record to win the outright regular-season championship and tie the Conference record for most League victories.

Coastal Carolina secured the No. 2 seed with its record of 16-7 in Big South play, while Winthrop receives the No. 3 seed with its 14-9 League record.  Liberty earns the No. 4 spot with a League mark of 12-12. Charleston Southern finished Big South play at 11-12 and is the No. 5 seed.  Presbyterian College finished its Conference campaign with a record of 10-12 to finish sixth and Campbell is the seven seed following an 8-15 finish.  Radford's 7-15 record was good for the No. 8 seed, while Gardner-Webb rounds out the field in the No. 9 spot with a 6-18 Conference mark.

The 2015 Softball Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting begins Thursday, May 7 with five games scheduled and concludes with a "winner-take-all" Championship contest on Sunday, May 10 at 2:00pm.  All games May 7-8 will be carried on the Big South Network.  ESPN3 will air 2-4 games on Saturday, May 9 as well as Sunday's Championship game.  The Big South's champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Softball Championship.  In-game statistics will be available on www.BigSouthSports.com and www.gocamels.com.

The Conference Championship schedule is as follows and is subject to change.  

Thursday, May 7 (Games 1-5)
Game 1: No. 8 Radford vs. No. 9 Gardner-Webb, 9:00am (single elimination)
Game 2: No. 4 Liberty vs. No. 5 Charleston Southern, 12:00pm
Game 3: No. 1 Longwood vs. 8/9 Winner, 2:30pm
Game 4: No. 2 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 7 Campbell, 5:00pm
Game 5: No. 3 Winthrop vs. No. 6 Presbyterian College, 7:30pm

Friday, May 8 (Games 6-11)
Game 6: Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 3, 9:00am
Game 7: Loser Game 4 vs. Loser Game 5, 11:30am
Game 8: Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3, 2:00pm
Game 9: Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5, 4:30pm
Game 10: Winner Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8, 7:00pm
Game 11: Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 9, 9:30pm

Saturday, May 9 (Games 12-13 [14-15])
Game 12: Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 10, 10:00am (TV: ESPN3)
Game 13: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 11, 12:30pm (TV: ESPN3)
Game 14: if necessary, 5:00pm ** (TV: ESPN3)
Game 15: if necessary, 7:30pm ** (TV: ESPN3)

Sunday, May 10 (Championship Game)
TBA vs. TBA, 2:00pm (TV: ESPN3)

** - Game 14 will be necessary if the winner of Game 10 defeats the winner of Game 9.  Game 15 will be necessary if the winner of Game 11 defeats the winner of Game 8.  If both games are played, they will both be played on Saturday.

View: Mobile | Desktop