Matsumoto, Emberson among four Buccaneers recognized on the Big South Softball postseason teams

Matsumoto, Emberson among four Buccaneers recognized on the Big South Softball postseason teams

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - Charleston Southern had four players recognized among the Big South Conference postseason award winners on Tuesday afternoon as the conference office announced the All-Conference, All-Freshman and All-Academic teams. Amanda Matsumoto and Caitlyn Emberson were both named to the Big South All-Conference Second Team, while Emberson and Arizona Pilgrim were named to the Big South All-Freshman team. Stevi Johnson was recognized on the conference All-Academic team.

Matsumoto was named to the All-Conference team for the second consecutive season after lining up all 54 games in centerfield for CSU. The junior centerfielder from Palatine, Ill. led the Big South Conference with 32 stolen bases on the season and had 17 multi-hit games and six multi-stolen base games. Matsumoto finished in the top 10 in the conference in on-base percentage (.425) and hits (55) for the second straight season. She was also in the top 10 in Big South Conference in hits (27) and stolen bases (10).

Emberson earned All-Conference and All-Freshman accolades after leading the Buccaneers in Big South Conference play in multiple categories including batting average (.393), slugging percentage (.738), on-base percentage (.528) and home runs (6). Emberson was also among the conference overall leaders in batting average, slugging percentage and on-base percentage. She enters the postseason on a 17 game on-base streak.

Pilgrim earned All-Freshman honors after finishing among the Big South overall pitching leaders in ERA, saves and appearances. Pilgrim was one of the top pitchers in Big South Conference play in multiple categories including: ERA, strikeouts, strikeouts looking, wins and appearances. Among her highlights on the season included picking up key Big South Conference wins over Longwood, Campbell, Winthrop and Liberty and she recorded a save in conference play against Gardner-Webb.

Johnson earned All-Academic honors for the first time in her CSU career with the junior utility player holding a 3.75 GPA in the classroom while majoring in History. Johnson finished the regular season with 12 multi-hit games and had a 10 game hitting streak and an eight game hitting streak on the season. She finished in the top 20 in Big South play in batting average and among her five home runs included homering in Big South play against Longwood and Winthrop.

Coastal Carolina senior Morgan Noad and Longwood junior Elizabeth McCarthy have been voted Big South softball Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year, respectively, by the league's head coaches.  Lancers' head coach Kathy Riley was voted Big South Coach of the Year, while Chanticleers' outfielder Taty Forbes earned Freshman of the Year honors.  Coastal Carolina's Mackenzie Conrad was voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the Big South's sports information directors.

Charleston Southern opens the 2016 Big South Softball Championships on Wednesday evening at the Terry Softball Complex against No. 2 seed Coastal Carolina. First pitch is set for 5 p.m.

First-Team All-Conference

OF       Bri Chiusano, Sr., Coastal Carolina
OF       Taty Forbes, Fr., Coastal Carolina
OF       Kelsie Sanchez, Jr., Presbyterian College
1B       Jamie Barbour, Sr., Longwood
2B       Carly Adams, Sr., Longwood
SS        Emily Murphy, Sr., Longwood
3B       Rachel McCollum, Fr., Campbell
C          Morgan Noad, Sr., Coastal Carolina
P          Elizabeth McCarthy, Jr., Longwood
P          Julia DiMartino, Fr., Liberty
DP       Amber Schisler, Jr., Campbell
UTL     Kelsey Dominik, Sr., Coastal Carolina

Second-Team All-Conference
OF       Amanda Matsumoto, Jr., Charleston Southern

OF       Jaclyn Amader, Fr., Liberty
OF       Taesha DuBoise, Jr., Campbell
1B       Mackenzie Conrad, Sr., Coastal Carolina
2B       Erin Ruff, Sr., Presbyterian College
SS        Marissa Gagliano, Fr., Radford
3B       Karleigh Donovan, R-Fr., Longwood
C          Caitlyn Emberson, Fr., Charleston Southern
P          Abby Morrow, Jr., Radford
P          Sydney Gay, Fr., Longwood
DP       Annie Robinson, Soph., Coastal Carolina
UTL     Megan Anderson, Fr., Presbyterian College

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Glenn Walters, OF, Soph., Longwood
Krista Kelly, OF, Soph., Longwood
Sydney Seigler, P, Sr., Presbyterian College
Katie Baker, UTL, Jr., Campbell
Tori Zavodny, OF, Soph., Liberty

All-Freshman Team
Taty Forbes, OF, Coastal Carolina
Julia DiMartino, P, Liberty
Sydney Gay, P, Longwood
Rachel McCollum, 3B, Campbell
Megan Anderson, UTL, Presbyterian
Caitlyn Emberson, C, Charleston Southern
Marissa Gagliano, SS, Radford
Jaclyn Amader, OF, Liberty
Ashley Guillette, P, Coastal Carolina
Karleigh Donovan, 3B, Longwood
Sarah Robertson, 2B, Liberty
Arizona Pilgrim, P, Charleston Southern

All-Academic Team
Katie Baker, P, Jr., Campbell
Stevi Johnson, UTL, Jr., Charleston Southern
Mackenzie Conrad, P/INF, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Jill Blank, OF, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Kassidy McCoy, 3B, Sr., Liberty
Kelsey Sweeney, DP, Soph., Longwood
Erin Ruff, 2B, Sr., Presbyterian College
Kayla Bishton, OF/DP, Jr., Radford
Zharne Glover, CF, Sr., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Morgan Noad, C, Sr., Coastal Carolina

Pitcher of the Year
Elizabeth McCarthy, Jr., Longwood

Freshman of the Year
Taty Forbes, OF, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Kathy Riley, Longwood

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Mackenzie Conrad, P/INF, Sr., Coastal Carolina

View: Mobile | Desktop