Friday Feature: Getting to Know Emelie Flink

Friday Feature: Getting to Know Emelie Flink

For senior, Emelie Flink, getting to Charleston Southern was a bit longer of a trip than for most students: a 4,467-mile long trip to be exact. Flink is from Jonkoping, Sweden where her parents and younger sister still live. "It's hard being away from her. We're really close because we're only two years apart."

Out of six players on the Women's Golf team, five are international students all from different countries. Players have summer and Winter break free, which Flink takes advantage of. "My family came over for Thanksgiving my freshman year, but I hope to take my dad to Kiawah when he comes for graduation and show him how it's supposed to be done."

Moving down south and getting away from the snow is what pointed Flink to CSU, but she still chooses mountains over the beach. Find out why below.

After graduation, will you be looking for jobs at home or here in the US? I'm at a place in the road where I don't know. I'm definitely going to keep my options open.

Favorite sports team: Me and Hailey (McNeill) just decided we are going to be Green Bay Packer fans because one of my classmates on the men's golf team is a packers fan. So we decided we're Packer fans and got the shirts and everything.

Favorite golfer to follow: Rory McIlroy. He's always been a huge influencer. He hits it far and he hits it straight.

Favorite meal of all time: I'm a huge breakfast person, so eggs, toast, preferably some avocado and a cup of coffee.

Secret talent: I'm really good at cartwheels. I can do them both ways.

Something in your golf bag you can't go without: I have two little mascots hanging on my bag that always go with me. One is a moose with a Swedish flag and I got it from one of my friends from back home when I left to come here. The other is a dog that I got it from a coach 10 years ago and it's been on my bag ever since. I don't really pay attention to them but they're always there.

Favorite course to play at CSU: I'm a huge fan of Osprey at Kiawah. We play a lot at Oak Point which is also a Kiawah course and I've played really well on that course so those ones are up there, definitely.

Favorite class: Principles of Marketing and International Marketing

Nickname: Em

Type of music you listen to: I am converted and listen to country. I didn't like it when I first got here. I thought it was weird, but now I think it's catchy and like to sing along to it. I'm not very good, but I still sing along.

If your teammates had two words to describe you on the course, what would they use? Fired up & talkative

If you could use two words to describe yourself off the course, what would you use? Focused & happy. I want to say funny, but I don't know if other people would say I'm funny.

Best advice you've ever received: For golf, "shot for shot." My mom's boss told me that I should find a job that makes me want to go to work in the morning and that's been pushing me a lot because that's why I'm here. I want to get a job where I can have fun. Obviously playing golf as a job would be cool, but there's other stuff I like too. 

Favorite ice cream flavor: I love Ben & Jerry's chocolate brownie

Guilty Pleasure: Double stuffed Oreos

Beach or mountains: Mountains. Growing up we went skiing a lot. I've seen some pretty landscapes in the mountains in the Alps and in Sweden. I love when it's fall in the hills and you can see all the leaves changing.

Favorite sporting moment from CSU: When I shot 69 out of Oak last year. I was in the moment and hitting the shots I wanted. It was such a relief. It was my first round breaking 70 in a tournament setting so it was definitely a good moment.

Favorite TV shows: Game of Thrones and 20-minute shows like Friends and the Office are the best.

If you had to pick one place to visit where would it be and why? I want to go to Sydney, Australia. I've always wanted to go and it's on the top of my list.

What sports do you play besides golf? I don't play any sports besides golf, but I wish I played tennis.

Besides golf, what's your favorite sport to watch? Hockey. It's quick and fast and a lot can happen in a few seconds. I obviously enjoy watching golf but it's long and boring. Plus, Sweden is pretty good at hockey, so it's fun to watch the World Championships and the Olympics.

Superstitions: I don't like to change golf balls during a round. I like to hit the same balls for 18 holes. It feels like I didn't lose it or have any penalty shots, so I try to always use the same one.

If you woke up tomorrow morning with a superpower, what would you want that superpower to be? I love Superman, so I would choose to fly.

Favorite Holiday: In Sweden we celebrate mid-summer and it's in the end of June. My family and I always go out to my grandma's house and we build a cross and you decorate it with leaves and stuff and then dance around it and sing songs. It's really Swedish and really Scandinavian. It's the fact we're out there at my grandma's house and it's always good food and fun and we play games and usually the entire family so it's a good time.

Specialty dish to cook: Swedish pancakes. It's more of a dessert than a dish. Even at home people say I'm good at making pancakes.

What would you tell someone to get them to come out and watch the women play? "Come out and watch us play these amazing courses and see how we play in tournaments. It was fun having people out watching, so come out and support us!"

As a marketing major, Flink wants to work in an athletic setting after graduation. "I'm huge into fitness so I would love to work with athletic gear. There's also the golf aspect and I could definitely see myself working with the PJ tour, web.com tour, or the women's tours."

On Monday, Flink and the women's golf team will be in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida for the Jacksonville Classic. You can follow live stats at csusports.com or golfstat.com.

   

View: Mobile | Desktop