Women's Tennis

Buccaneers earn No. 4 seed at Big South Women's Tennis Championship

Buccaneers earn No. 4 seed at Big South Women's Tennis Championship

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (www.BigSouthSports.com) – Charleston Southern earned the No. 4 seed at this week's Big South Women's Tennis Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting, as announced by the conference office on Sunday morning.

The Buccaneers boasted an 11-7 overall record and a 5-3 mark in Big South Conference play in 2018 to receive the fourth-seed in the conference's postseason tournament.

CSU will face No. 5 Presbyterian in a quarterfinal round matchup at the Rock Hill Tennis Center on Thursday afternoon with doubles play set to begin at noon. The Bucs topped Presbyterian, 4-3, on March 14 in Clinton, S.C.

The Bucs face a tough test on their goal to advancing to the Championship match for the second consecutive season and fifth time in the past six years. CSU could face top-seed Winthrop in the Friday's semifinals and potentially the winner of No. 2 Liberty/No. 3 Campbell in the finals. All three teams handed CSU its only conference losses this year.

Two-time defending champion Winthrop University has clinched the No. 1 seed in the field. The Eagles won the outright 2018 regular-season championship with a perfect 8-0 record -- the league's first undefeated conference season since 2014.

Liberty finished 7-1 in league action to secure the No. 2 seed, while Campbell is the No. 3 seed based on its 6-2 record -- the Camels' highest seeding since 2013.  Charleston Southern takes the No. 4 seed with its 5-3 Big South finish, followed by Presbyterian College at No. 5 (4-4).  Radford earned the No. 6 seed after finishing 3-5 in the league this year, while UNC Asheville received the No. 7 seed with its 2-6 conference record.  Gardner-Webb is the No. 8 seed at 1-7, and Longwood rounded out the seedings at No. 9 after going winless in league action.

The 2018 Big South Women's Tennis Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting will be held at the Rock Hill Tennis Center in Rock Hill, S.C.  The event begins Wednesday, April 18 with one first round match and concludes with the Championship contest on Saturday, April 21.  The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Tennis Championship.  The Championship schedule is as follows:

Wednesday, April 18 – First Round
Match 1:  No. 8 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 9 Longwood, 10 a.m.

Thursday, April 19 – Quarterfinals
Match 2:  No. 1 Winthrop vs. No. 8/9 winner, 9 a.m.
Match 3:  No. 4 Charleston Southern vs. No. 5 Presbyterian College, Noon
Match 4:  No. 2 Liberty vs. No. 7 UNC Asheville, 3 p.m.
Match 5:  No. 3 Campbell vs. No. 6 Radford, 6 p.m.

Friday, April 20 – Semifinals
Match 6:  Match 2 winner vs. Match 4 winner, 10 a.m.
Match 7:  Match 3 winner vs. Match 5 winner, 2 p.m.

Saturday, April 21 – Championship
Match 8:  Match 6 winner vs. Match 7 winner, 10 a.m.

View: Mobile | Desktop